Green Tomato Chutney

This recipe  is from a cookbook I got YEARS ago. Jams Pickles and Chutneys by Bridget Jones (Hamlyn 1983) comes from another – really pre- internet time – and also before a time when home canning was in vogue as a food political statement. It also goes to show that  I’ve always been interested in this stuff too. 

The Green Tomato Chutney’s main use for me though is as a base for making my own  ketchup. This one is so simple! Puree a 250 ml jar of the chutney and then add a small can of tomato paste. Done! The chutney is still delicious in its own right. The apple and onion add a lot of their own gentle sweetness to it. 

What my decktop canning operation looks like.

What my decktop canning operation looks like.

As you can see from the pictures, I’m doing this on the deck. I love canning outside on decks – even when its hot. There’s something about cooking, and looking up at the expanse of sky or tree/city scape that is around. There is also a lot more room to work. For cooking surfaces, I take the grill plates off the BBQ and use the main BBQ to cook my mix, while using the much hotter, more direct side burner for the water bath. If you are doing it on a deck, you DO need a water source. A hose with a trigger nozzle works well.

How I use the BBQ for canning

How I use the BBQ for canning

The one thing about cooking on a deck, especially if it is far away from the kitchen (this one is on the third floor, the kitchen is on the first) is to make sure you have everything you need. Last year I was gnashing my teeth at the number of times I realized “oh I need this” that I made a list at the end of everything I finally brought up. This really useful list is included here.

The bracketed numbers refer to weight ratios of the main ingredients.

Here is the recipe:

Green Tomato Chutney

Makes 3.5kg – 15-18 250ml jars

Ingredients

2kg green tomatoes (4) = 1 basket
1kg onions (2)
1kg apples (2)
4 green chillies (or any hot chilly pepper)
4 large cloves garlic, crushed
14g fresh ginger, minced
2 pinches ground cloves
2 pinches turmeric
100g raisins
500g dark sugar (1)
600ml vinegar (1.x)

Process

Heat a large 60L pot of water and place empty jars in it
Fine chop tomatoes and onions (I use the slicer on my food processor)
Peel, core and chop apples
Chop chillies
Mix in a large saucepan and add garlic, ginger, cloves, and  turmeric
Stir in raisins, sugar and vinegar & bring to a boil

How it starts out

How it starts out

Cover the pan, reduce the heat, and simmer for 1.25-1.5 hrs or until it has thickened

And how it ends up...

And how it ends up…

Pour into hot jars & cover with airtight lids. (This instruction assumes the reader is familiar with basic canning procedures.)
Boil canned for about 10-12 minutes.
THIS RECIPE MAKES 3.5KG OR 18 250ML CONTAINERS

Stuff you need to make this

  • food processor (cutting ingredients: mainly the slicer. )
  • 18-20 250 ml jars + lids
  • bowls with ingredients measured out
  • peeler
  • 1 wooden spoon – large
  • rubber spatula
  • cutting board
  • 18L and 60L pots
  • canning tongs
  • BBQ tongs
  • pot lids
  • 4 stove mitts
  • 1 cup measuring cup
  • small ladle
  • sponge
  • scouring pad
  • metal colander

And….. THERE’S MORE!!!

You can use this chutney to make your VERY OWN homemade tomato ketchup!

Simple…. Puree a 250ml jar of the chutney, add in a can of tomato paste (125ml or so) …. Voila!

3 thoughts on “Green Tomato Chutney

  1. Pingback: My DIY week | homecookexplorer

  2. Pingback: The ultimate ‘from scratch’ burger | homecookexplorer

Leave a Reply

